Engine trouble - various issues

Those bits as owners we just know will occur!
Forum rules
DO NOT POST QUESTIONS HERE ABOUT FAULTS PLEASE USE THE GENERAL QUESTION AREAS
ElmerFudd
Getting to like it here
Coupe: Gen3.5
Engine: 2.7(v6)
Has thanked: 0

Engine trouble - various issues

Post by ElmerFudd »

Hello guys and girls

The time has come to try and sort out some issues with my coupe, if you wouldn't mind helping me diagnose the causes as I'm far from an expert when it comes to engines but I do know my way around a tool kit.

I have a gen 3.5, 2.7 v6, 55plate.

I will include all problems in this thread just incase they are linked and possibly help with diagnosis. However if we concentrate on problems 1-3 first so we don't get confused with crossed information.

I apologize for the long post, just want to get as much information in as possible.

The problems.

1. Intermittent stall/drop in revs on start up. For instance I can jump in the car, start it up fine, runs fine, go to petrol station, get back in and bang, trouble starting. Sometimes it doesn't start and struggles, it turns over but takes time to fire, but always fires, it has never failed to fire up. Once it fires it can be fine and runs smooth, other times revs drop to about 500rpm and feels like it will stall, other times it will stall. So very inconsistent and erratic in behaviour. I do have a video of starting and revs dropping

https://youtu.be/4fLfWtdoa6I

2. When idle, revs drop for a second then back up. (This may have 5min intervals, 30 seconds, 2 min, 3min etc. It can happen a lot or not at all, very irregular on timing for this issue)(I do feel this is probably linked to problem 1)

3. When pulling away engine seems to shake/revs drop when I wouldn't expect it to, I've tried plenty of revs and still seems to be there. Again intermittent sometimes it happens other times it doesn't (Again I feel this maybe linked to problem 1+2)