Brake bleeding idiocy

Had a disaster? Broken it smashed it destroyed it? Overfilled it? Let us know what YOU did wrong so others don't!
jdt123
I'm getting good at this
Coupe: Gen3
Engine: 1.6
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Brake bleeding idiocy

Post by jdt123 »

Only just found this section but I've had my fair share of stupid moments when fixing the car. No family in the motor trade so everything I've done has been self-taught, using taught in the loosest sense, it's more a case of dive in and have a crack. Got to love it though, the feeling of satisfaction and smugness that you've achieved something on your own. :handgestures-thumbupleft:

Also the feeling of your brake pedal slowly getting closer to the floor as you're going downhill and approaching a set of red lights at a crossroad.... :doh:

I'd had problems with the NSR caliper binding on, hitting it with the tyre-iron used to work wonders but then I decided to get a refurb kit. Got the caliper off with a little struggle and fiddled around for an eternity getting the dust boots into place. Started the job at about 10am and after copious cig and coffee breaks it was done by 10pm, both rear calipers back on and bled... (along with a few other jobs on my list and a spot of lunch ;) ).